Gentlemen & Players

Gentlemen & Players

Author: Joanne Harris
€10.92
Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Susan Hill, Nicci French and Val McDermid, this is an astute and intelligent psychological thriller centring around obsession and rage from international multi-million copy seller Joanne Harris. Fast paced with unexpected twists and turns, it will get right under the skin... '[A] gripping psychological thriller... Harris is one of our most accomplished novelists and Gentlemen & Players, with its pace, wit and acute observation, shows her at the top of her form' -- DAILY EXPRESS '[A] delicious black comedy ... the plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life' -- DAILY MAIL 'It kept me on the edge of my seat and I was thinking about it long after I turned the last page' -- ***** Reader review 'An intricate, engrossing novel' -- ***** Reader review 'Wonderfully, horribly plausible' -- ***** Reader review 'I read it in three days which is as close as I get to "couldn't put it down"' -- ***** Reader review 'Well written and enthralling' -- ***** Reader review 'A must read....' -- ***** Reader review 'Absolutely loved this book!' -- ***** Reader review ******************************************************************************************* At St Oswald's, a long-established boys' grammar school in the north of England, a new year has just begun. For the staff and boys of the school, a wind of unwelcome change is blowing. Suits, paperwork and Information Technology rule the world; and Roy Straitley, the eccentric veteran Latin master, is finally - reluctantly - contemplating retirement. But beneath the little rivalries, petty disputes and everyday crises of the school, a darker undercurrent stirs. And a bitter grudge, hidden and carefully nurtured for thirteen years, is about to erupt. The trilogy continues with blueeyedboy and Different Class. show more
Book Title Gentlemen & Players
Author Joanne Harris
Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Susan Hill, Nicci French and Val McDermid, this is an astute and intelligent psychological thriller centring around obsession and rage from international multi-million copy seller Joanne Harris. Fast paced with unexpected twists and turns, it will get right under the skin... '[A] gripping psychological thriller... Harris is one of our most accomplished novelists and Gentlemen & Players, with its pace, wit and acute observation, shows her at the top of her form' -- DAILY EXPRESS '[A] delicious black comedy ... the plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life' -- DAILY MAIL 'It kept me on the edge of my seat and I was thinking about it long after I turned the last page' -- ***** Reader review 'An intricate, engrossing novel' -- ***** Reader review 'Wonderfully, horribly plausible' -- ***** Reader review 'I read it in three days which is as close as I get to "couldn't put it down"' -- ***** Reader review 'Well written and enthralling' -- ***** Reader review 'A must read....' -- ***** Reader review 'Absolutely loved this book!' -- ***** Reader review ******************************************************************************************* At St Oswald's, a long-established boys' grammar school in the north of England, a new year has just begun. For the staff and boys of the school, a wind of unwelcome change is blowing. Suits, paperwork and Information Technology rule the world; and Roy Straitley, the eccentric veteran Latin master, is finally - reluctantly - contemplating retirement. But beneath the little rivalries, petty disputes and everyday crises of the school, a darker undercurrent stirs. And a bitter grudge, hidden and carefully nurtured for thirteen years, is about to erupt. The trilogy continues with blueeyedboy and Different Class. show more